All About Bennett (Early Birthday Edition)

1. As a follow-up to this post on his coughing issue: it’s asthma. I’m certain. He’s been on a steroid inhaler for 2+ months now, and we’ve broken out the rescue inhaler twice and used it for a maximum of a week each time when he started a little bit of a cough. No daily coughing anymore! It’s such a relief to feel like we at least know what it is. Now, he can’t stay on this steroid inhaler forever, and will likely go off it after allergy season passes. So it will be interesting to see how it all unfolds after that, but at least now we know.

2. His head wound has healed so beautifully I can’t believe it! Just a perfect pink line all through his eyebrow, which is sure to fade with time. It’ll be slathered in sunscreen all summer, but he always is anyway.

3. On Saturday, Bennett had his first practice baseball game, and during warm-ups, somehow took a ricocheted flyball to the lip. Gotta love getting a call from your friend (and coach’s wife) who’s already at the game, alerting you to the fact that you may see B coming back from the concession stand with a bleeding lip and ice pack, but that she’s checked it and it doesn’t need stitches. Sigh.

4. We decided, rather rashly for our family, to convert the guest bedroom into a bedroom for Bennett, which means all 3 boys have separate rooms now! Bennett was all for this, and he will gladly give up his room and bunk with Jack Henry when we have company, which was the deal we made with him upon making the switch.

Of course, he chose Illini as his theme, which is really cool because we had all kinds of stuff to go in there. Take a little look around!

uncle jake...recognize that old poster??

uncle jake…recognize that old poster??

reading corner

reading corner

inside the closet...my fave ikea storage unit (expedit) with some old illini crates.

inside the closet…my fave ikea storage unit (expedit) with some old illini crates.

view from the door

view from the door

nightstand...hayley made that frame years ago! cutie-pie little illini bros pic from 2008.

nightstand…hayley made that frame years ago! cutie-pie little illini bros pic from 2008.

2 old tees stretched over a canvas on the left; a cross-stitch of the chief that matt's mom made for him in college.

2 old tees stretched over a canvas on the left; a cross-stitch of the chief that matt’s mom made for him in college.

I have to admit, even more than when Luke moved into his own room 2 years ago (very few changes were made to decor), this felt like doing a big kid’s room for the first time. Which made me a tiny bit sad, but it was also really fun that he had ideas and input.

5. As of next Monday, he’ll be 9. NINE. One year from double-digits. Halfway to leaving for college. Birthdays now bring about a sense of urgency in me…there’s still so much I want him to know, and the years to learn those things are just flying by. And when I get reflective about Bennett and who he is and what it’s like to parent him, I get kinda weepy…I don’t know, I just love him so much, and parenting him has been challenging beyond what I envisioned and made me grow and stretch and I’m thankful for that and just hope we’re doing what’s right and good for him (and his brothers, of course) all the time. Does that make any sense?

20140331-084722.jpg

He’ll spend the weekend leading up to his birthday playing baseball, and his love for the sport combined with his love for his team makes that the perfect way to celebrate.

2nd season of t-ball ( sadly, i have no pics of him playing his first season!)

2nd season of t-ball ( sadly, i have no pics of him playing his first season!)

he'd just turned 4 here.

he’d just turned 4 here.

There will be lots of little celebrations over the coming days that I’ll be sure to document!

5 responses to “All About Bennett (Early Birthday Edition)

  1. That picture of him fielding a grounder so long ago ….. tears.

  2. VERY glad the asthma issue is solved. I know it’s been a trial & error process, but at least now you know what you’re dealing with. Just not fun to deal w/ with an athletic kid!

    I was at Andrea’s over the wkend, & somewhere along the line, she showed me on her phone a pic of Bennett’s swollen lip! I forgot to find the pic myself later, so after I write this, I’ll have to see where I missed it! Thank
    GOD no stitches!!

    OMGosh, I love B’s new Illini bedroom, & you’re right: it really looks kinda “grown up”!! I’m excited for him! (I know from experience that the middle child doesn’t always get anything “special”!) Can’t wait for him to show it off to us in person!

    Regarding his birthday, I’m just relieved he’s still in single digits–this “grandsons inching towards teenagerism” is NOT sitting well w/ me! Bennett’s the most scrumptious mixture of lovey-dovey/sensitive AND rough ‘n tumble, and I just love him to pieces! LOVE those “big toddler” baseball pics!!!!

  3. Great job on the room! It is crazy how quickly time is going by and our kids are now getting too close to the teenage years! Happy Birthday to Bennett!!!!

  4. oh my goodness–his room is so clean and looks AMAZING! well done 🙂 ugh, about the asthma but praise that you have an “answer”. and you do a great job parenting, little b! 🙂 i love that little guy!

  5. Glad that Illini poster is getting some use! Love the bedroom!

Talk to me!