Happy 4th of July!

It’s rainy, but that’s ok…it hasn’t rained for weeks. And rumor has it that it should be dry by fireworks time tonight, so that would be perfect!

The big boys are spending the morning watching a classic for the first time: “Wizard of Oz.” I’ll likely be up in the middle of the night with nightmares about witches and flying monkeys. We’ll see.

Jack Henry enjoyed licking a beater for the first time this morning as I was working on dessert for tonight, when we’re having dinner with the Swinigans. On the menu:

Warm Italiano Spread (featuring tomatoes that I GREW IN MY BACKYARD…more on that soon)
Grilled Meatloaf (pictures of prep on the cooking blog by tomorrow)
Salad
Fruit
Sugar Cookies for the kids
Boston Cream Pie

jh beater

Happy 4th, everyone!

3 responses to “Happy 4th of July!

  1. How dear to my heart . . . licking beaters. 🙂

    Your meal at Swinigans sounds great. I bought the grill basket awhile back to make the grilled meatloaf and haven’t done it yet, so that’s on my agenda.

    Rain here today, too. Programs cancelled, but maybe fireworks for tonight. Think we’ll stay at home after doing the fireworks thing at the lake last night.

  2. Mmmm. Everything sounds yummy! I can’t wait to dig in!!

  3. i still can’t watch Wizard of Oz w/o flying monkey nightmares!

Talk to me!