By the Numbers.

Today was Applesauce Day 2010.

6 – number of kids Heather and I have between the two of us (funniest moment of the day for me: remembering back to 2003, when I had baby Luke and Heather and I weren’t sure how we were going to make this work, with a baby around…I even took him to Megan’s [his sitter] for the afternoon so that we could get it done. Hilarious, considering we now make tons more applesauce and somehow manage 6 kids + their meals + naps)

8 – hours spent making applesauce (and tending to the kids when needed)

5 – approximate number of minutes Heather and I took to scarf down sandwiches at lunch

0 – number of times we had to break up a fight (is that incredible or what?)

2 – number of times we served the kids applesauce today

14(ish) – pounds of sugar used

3 – bushels of apples (Heather had already made a bushel last night at home!)

54 – quarts of applesauce at the end of the day. whew.

3 responses to “By the Numbers.

  1. YUMMY!

  2. Yummy! I made my 1st batch of home made applesauce last fall. I need to get about 134 times more apples this year!

    So funny about Luke go to the sitter’s. Isn’t it amazing how things change w/more kids?

  3. Would you mind posting your recipe to Three More Bites? I read that and would like to know how to make apple sauce! You are so creative and resourceful!

Talk to me!